What is spelt?

Spelt is an ancient grain that is undergoing a comeback in North America as a healthier alternative to wheat. It was an important staple first cultivated by farmers in Mesopotamia as long ago as 5000 BC. The reason why wheat became much more common nowadays is because modern, hybridized wheat is much easier and cheaper to harvest and process.

Spelt, on the other hand, is a pure and not biologically modified grain. It is relatively low yielding which makes it a more sustainable crop and being able to thrive with very little fertilizers. Spelt's husk also protects it from pollutants or insects which allows farmers to use virtually no pesticides. In terms of nutritional benefits spelt is high in protein, dietary fiber, B complex and other vitamins. Because spelt is highly water soluble, all the nutrients are easily digested and absorbed by the body. Spelt has a great nutty flavor and has a better Glycemic Index than wheat. People with a mild gluten intolerance may find that they can consume spelt, however, it is not recommend for people with celiac disease. We have Spelt Cakes for you to try right here.

What is amaranth?

Amaranth (from Greek amarantos - "unfading" and anthos - "flower"), one of the oldest known food plants, is a highly nutritious gluten-free grain that was domesticated between six and eight thousand years ago. It is considered to be a native crop to Peru and was a major food crop of the ancient Aztecs. 

Amaranth is technically not a grain but rather a seed, however it's nutrient profile is very similar to other cereals. Amaranth is a great source of protein, in fact it contains more protein than of any other gluten free grain. Its protein is also of very high quality thanks to the presence of lysine, an important amino acid, that most grains lack. Another advantage of amaranth's protein is that it is more soluble and digestible than the one found in wheat. Other benefits of amaranth include an unusually high calcium content and a good amount of iron, magnesium, phosphorus and fiber. We are carrying a few snacks that contain amaranth which can be found here

What is quinoa?

Just like Amaranth, quinoa is a pseudocereal since it is not a member of the Poaceae grass family. Quinoa was considered sacred by the Incas in South America who domesticated it around four thousand years ago. Nowadays, it is labelled as superfood due to its unique nutritional values such very high complete protein content. It is also a good source of calcium making it a suitable grain for vegans and lactose intolerant individuals.

Quinoa is also gluten free since it is not related to wheat or other true grains. Recent studies have shown that antioxidant and anti-inflammatory phytonutrients found in quinoa decrease the risk of inflammation-related problems and also obesity. If you would like to try our products containing quinoa you can find them by clicking this link

What is buckwheat?

Despite its name, buckwheat is not related to wheat at all, rather it is closer to rhubarb. It is an ancient pseudocereal with triangular seeds that provides essential nutrients, vitamins, and fiber. Studies have shown that buckwheat's relative proportions of amino acids help to lower cholesterol and decrease blood pressure.

Buckwheat is one of the best sources of rutin which is important for vascular elasticity. The grains get digested more slowly than other carbohydrates which makes you feeling full longer. Another advantage of buckwheat is that it contains no gluten and is therefore safe to eat for people with gluten allergy. If you are ready for some delicious buckwheat superfood look no further: buckwheat snacks.

Are any of your products gluten free?

Yes, actually all of the crispbreads are gluten free (made in a wheat free facility) as well as all of our rice and corn cakes except for spelt cakes. The easiest way to browse all the gluten free products is to click here: Gluten Free Snacks.

What is your opinion on GMO products?

We believe that substantial research has not been done to determine whether there are any negative long term effects of consuming GMO foods and therefore we carry only certified non-GMO snacks to be on the safe side. Enjoy snacking like the nature intended! 😋

Are any of your products vegan?

Yes, all of our products are certified vegan. 🌱

How do I recycle the wrappers?

Our wrappers are made from #5 plastic which is generally recyclable. Double check with your local recycling depot. We are currently working hard to make all of our packaging as much eco friendly as possible. 

Do your products contain fat?

No, all our products are fat free as none of them has any fat or oil added.

Do your products contain tree nuts or sesame seeds?

No, none of our snacks contain tree nuts, sesame seeds or poppy seeds.